Flags of Our Fathers – Montford Point Marines


marinesww2.jpg
I want to thank reaganite for posting this entry at GCP. Great article, great website, and great deeds from the “greatest generation.” Semper Fi, gentlemen.

Back home in Jackson, where I was the first Negro Marine admitted to the Corps from Mississippi, I had to wait out the period until a sufficient amount of the camp had been completed. There was one special requirement the Marine Generals insisted on. “If we must admit them, and train them, we reserve the right to demand that every Negro who wants to become a Marine, must have an education either in college, or must have completed his high school courses.” It was the one regulation we later came to love, because intellectually, we were smarter than 80 percent of the white Marines. We had college graduates … college Professors, college teachers … high school graduates … and in the end, the highest number of Marines (20) to be sent to Montfort Point, in a group, were from Jackson, Mississippi.

READ IT ALL

4 Responses

  1. Awesome Post!

  2. Hello,

    My father Houston Grace, was a member of the Montfort Port Marines. I was wondering if any photographs were available of them. Unfortunately, my father has been deceased for many years, but I would like for my grandchildren to know of their history. Thank-you.

    Michele Grace

  3. Hi Michele: There are quite a few photos at the MPM Website.
    Thanks so much for stopping by.
    Here is a link to the website LINK

  4. Would you please contact me; it means much to me, especially since I was a “daddy’s girl.” My sincerest thanks…..

Comments are closed.

Der Komoediant - literarisch, politisch, gesellschaftlich

Gesellschaft, Politik und Allerlei. Meinungsfreudig, persönlich und politisch inkorrekt - meistens jedenfalls.

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

TIME NEVER DIES

Sercan Ondem

Father Says...

one dad's thoughts on life

Resultize

knowledge-sharing platform about career, self-development, productivity & learning for ambitious young people

TIME NEVER DIES

The Circle Is Not Round

WiseDrugged

Share Wisdom. Live Abundantly.

The Traditionalist

Revolt Against The Modern World

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

My life as Atu's Blog

a small thougt for a big planet of daydreamer

Taffy Toffy's Blog

太妃糖的博客

