A Letter To Obama From Harold B. Estes


Sarah Palin posted a link to this letter in her FaceBook entry Nov. 28.

November 20, 2009

Dear President Obama,
My name is Harold Estes, approaching 95 on December 13 of this year. People meeting me for the first time don’t believe my age because I remain wrinkle free and pretty much mentally alert.
I enlisted in the U.S. Navy in 1934 and served proudly before, during and after WW II retiring as a Master Chief Bos’n Mate. Now I live in a “rest home” located on the western end of Pearl Harbor allowing me to keep alive the memories of 23 years of service to my country.
One of the benefits of my age, perhaps the only one, is to speak my mind, blunt and direct even to the head man.
So here goes.
I am amazed, angry and determined not to see my country die before I do but you seem hell bent not to grant me that wish.
I can’t figure out what country you are the president of. You fly around the world telling our friends and enemies despicable lies like:
” We’re no longer a Christian nation”
” America is arrogant” – (Your wife even announced to the world,”America is mean-spirited. ” Please tell her to try preaching that nonsense to 23 generations of our war dead buried all over the globe who died for no other reason than to free a whole lot of strangers from tyranny and hopelessness.)
I’d say shame on the both of you but I don’t think you like America nor do I see an ounce of gratefulness in anything you do for the obvious gifts this country has given you. To be without shame or gratefulness is a dangerous thing for a man sitting in the White House.
After 9/11 you said,” America hasn’t lived up to her ideals.”
Which ones did you mean? Was it the notion of personal liberty that 11,000 farmers and shopkeepers died for to win independence from the British ? Or maybe the ideal that no man should be a slave to another man that 500,000 men died for in the Civil War ? I hope you didn’t mean the ideal 470,000 fathers, brothers,husbands,and a lot of fellas I knew personally died for in WWII, because we felt real strongly about not letting any nation push us around because we stand for freedom.
I don’t think you mean the ideal that says equality is better than discrimination. You know the one that a whole lot of white people understood when they helped to get you elected.
Take a little advice from a very old geezer, young man. Shape up and start acting like an American.If you don’t, I’ll do what I can to see you get shipped out of that fancy rental on Pennsylvania Avenue .You were elected to lead not to bow, apologize and kiss the hands of murderers and corrupt leaders who still treat their people like slaves.
And just who do you think you are telling the American people not to jump to conclusions and condemn that Muslim major who killed 13 of his fellow soldiers and wounded dozens more. You mean you don’t want us to do what you did when that white cop used force to subdue that black college professor in Massachusetts who was putting up a fight ? You don’t mind offending the police calling them stupid but you don’t want us to offend Muslim fanatics by calling them what they are, terrorists.
One more thing. I realize you never served in the military and never had to defend your country with your life but you’re the Commander-in-Chief now, son. Do your job. When your battle-hardened field General asks you for 40,000 more troops to complete the mission, give them to him. But if you’re not in this fight to win, then get out. The life of one American soldier is not worth the best political strategy you’re thinking of.
You could be our greatest president because you face the greatest challenge ever presented to any president. You’re not going to restore American greatness by bringing back our bloated economy. That’s not our greatest threat. Losing the heart and soul of who we are as Americans is our big fight now. And I sure as hell don’t want to think my president is the enemy in this final battle.
Sincerely,
Harold B. Estes

McAlpin , FL

There is nothing more to say.

18 Responses

  1. I got the exact same email from a bud of mine in Houston today, with one notable exception. In the email I got, it doesn’t sign the letter with a Florida residence. Someone must have added that, as he clearly states he resides near Pearl Harbor.

  2. I saw this letter the other day at Grouchy, including a picture and he doesn’t look 90.
    http://www.grouchyconservativepundits.com/index.php?topic=7689.0

  3. I don’t care where he lives. The fact that he addresses the cinc as “son” is worth it. This letter needs to be under the glass on obambozo’s desk. It would be the reminder of the maggot in chief’s actual status with those of us who have in truth, really done something for this country. Especially for men such as BMCM Estes.

  4. Wow.
    I wish I could articulate things as well as that and I am half his age. No amount of collage or any type of schooling can beat the meat world experience this gentleman had.
    Obama would be very wise to heed the words of this gentleman. But I wont hold my breath.

  5. OT, but very funny.
    What goes around, comes around.

  6. I am also a war veteran and I agree 110% with Mr. Harold B Estes. As a matter of fact I myself recently wrote a poem indefence of the cross that they are trying to take down in the Mojave Dessert. However I commented on a few concerns that I have about are recent so called President.
    One of my local papers would not publish the whole poem, but thankfully the other local paper did. With that being said I decided to include my poem so that Mr. Estes would see that there are others that share his concern about the dirrection our current president is trying to take our country. God please thank you
    David A geyer
    WAKE UP AMERICA
    By David A Geyer 10/20/09

    We use to have a nation filled with pride,
    Which many have fought for and many have died.
    A price that was high but honorable it seems,
    To live in a free nation and keep alive our fore fathers dreams.
    However times they do change, this seems to be a must,
    And now they want you to be prosecuted, if you believe that in God we trust.
    This nation was built Christian from day one,
    To trust in God and Jesus his son.
    A dictatorship we have not known,
    And we’ve never wanted to answer to one man on a throne.
    So instead of remembering why and how America got its birth,
    We don’t want to offend anyone so we cater to every nation on earth.
    And even though our motto has always been, that in God we trust,
    We still gave you the option it was not a must.
    But because that veterans put up a cross, to honor those who fought to give you that right,
    You have the nerve to box it up because it goes against your religious fight.
    But before you continue to argue that you are offended by a cross that was erected on federal land,
    Maybe you should think about this from where all of us Christians stand.
    This cross was put up in 1934,
    To honor those who fought to give you a window to freedom, instead of a closed door.
    So instead o being grateful that you have a religious choice,
    You are going to disgraces their memories by abusing your freedom voice.
    You know what bothers me most about this case,
    That you would not have a problem, if you’re religious symbol was in the same place.
    And if a Christian stood up to speak his or her mind,
    Then they would be on trial, for being racists or a hate crime.
    Now my intention was not to a offend you with my point of view,
    But as a disabled American veteran, there are a few things that offend me too.
    Like having a commander in chief that refuses to salute the American flag.
    And no more visualization of the Ten Commandments, that where thrown out like an old rag.
    Allegiance to the flag is no longer said.
    And prayer at work or school has been put to bed.
    Then after honoring these me for 75 years for why they died,
    You’re going to disgrace their memories for selfish pride.
    So in closing I hope my point of view is now something you can see.
    And it makes me ponder how long we will stay “the home of the brave and the land of the free.”

  7. Harold B. Estes, is indeed a real pearson. I joined the Navy in 1963. My 1st. duty station, after boot camp, was a Ship homeported in Pearl Harbor. I started going to a Church off Base. Harold B. Estes, happened to be a Deacon in that Church. I met Harold in January 1964. Harold his Wife Doris and their son Harold Jr., treated me like a member of their family. He indeed will be 95 on Dec. 13th. I too am retired from the US Navy.

    Ennis D. Clark

  8. thank you harold estes for a most uplifting letter. sir, you speak so many truths and of the many wrong directions this person in our white house is trying to take us. may GOD continue to bless our America and to keep us safe.
    God bless you,sir with continued good health and longevity.

  9. please explain to me how a christian nation could sustain slavery for so many years.

  10. By evading the real issue of how Christianity relates toslavery you have answered my question. Not even you are able to associate Christianity with slavery because there is no association.The Scripture speaks against Christians owning slaves. It only speaks to Christians. So how Christian were those people who owned slaves? Condidering the devastation slavery caused that is very apparent today,how Christian is America if it has not healed this devastation? Until America comes to know and experience the Body of Christ and God’s grace,America will forever be ignorant of what it is to be Christian. There much concern for sin in America and so little preaching about grace that compassion and respect have dimshed in Amerca. So how Christian is America

    • I don’t need a Scripture reference to tell me that slavery is morally wrong, and I see no purpose in offering moral and spiritual judgement on people who lived and died seven generations ago.

    • @hosea Yes, you are wasting your time, your breath, MY time, and valuable oxygen. I’m still trying to figure out what your comments have to do with anything related to his article…after all, aren’t we complaining about a black president? The slavery that concerns me is that of our society to the guilt of what was done so long ago… I’m accused of being racist and a slaveowner, when my ancestors hadn’t even immigrated to America by the turn of the 20th century. What concerns me is the perpetuation, the shackles of slavery…the stubbornness with which black America holds on to that injustice, as if it’s what defines them. Are there any here who remember slavery? Owned slaves? WERE slaves? No…but the leaders of the black community NEED racism and hate, as it is currency for them…a means to a financially prosperous end. A white man walking through a predominantly black neighorhood is in far more immediate danger than a black man walking through a white neighborhood. Of course, there’s no such thing as a white neighborhood – that would be racist. No white clubs, white magazines, white pageants…the horror! I agree there should be no dividing line based on color. Conversely, it stands to reason then, there should be no black clubs, black magazines, black pageants and we all know that isn’t the way it works, don’t we? Why is that? Is that not racism? Is the definition of racism simply a majority discriminating against a minority? Absolutely not! You speak of the devastation caused by slavery that is still evident today…you’re saying that affirmative action, the ACLU, the NAACP, the Rainbow Coalition, the National Action Network, etc etc etc all dedicated to the advancement of the black community isn’t enough? Let me guess…I bet I can sum up your solution in one word – reparations, yeah? Lucky for you, I’m a Christian, and I’ll withhold my feelings about that particular issue. God bless and guide you, Mr. Robertson…you surely need it!

  11. i am wasting my time

  12. I bet I can sum up your solution in one word – reparations, yeah? Lucky for you, I’m a Christian, and I’ll withhold my feelings about that particular issue. God bless and guide you, Mr. Robertson…you surely need it!

Comments are closed.

Der Komödiant - Magazin / Blog / Zeitung

Das Onlinemagazin - Der Komödiant schreibt aus Berlin über die diversesten Themen - stets mit Humor und einer ganz persönlichen Note

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

TIME NEVER DIES

Sercan Ondem

Father Says...

one dad's thoughts on life

Resultize

knowledge-sharing platform about career, self-development, productivity & learning for ambitious young people

TIME NEVER DIES

The Circle Is Not Round

WiseDrugged

Share Wisdom. Live Abundantly.

The Traditionalist

Revolt Against The Modern World

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

My life as Atu's Blog

a small thougt for a big planet of daydreamer

Taffy Toffy's Blog

太妃糖的博客

