Coming Full Circle-The Importance Of A Foundation


I don’t really follow basketball and never had a real affection for the game. However, at this time of year, with the sudden elimination tournaments and the win or go home motivation added to the game, I do find the games fascinating. In the men’s NCAA tournament upsets are in abundance, and the thrill of the underdog players and their fans when they knock out a previously higher ranked opponent is fun to watch.

I also enjoy watching the women’s NCAA tournament, as the quality of play has advanced dramatically in the past twenty years. These tough young female competitors have as strong a desire to win as anyone. Yet, they are still young ladies not far removed from being young girls, and the foundations established in their young lives are quite evident.

I was watching the end of the Oklahoma vs Notre Dame game, which went into overtime. These two teams were slugging it out, contesting each shot and playing with an intensity that was unyielding. The young star for OU that made the game winning three point basket in a tie game with only seconds left had a redemptive experience, as she had confessed earlier to shying away from being the star last year, not wanting to be in a position to win the game. She had vowed to never allow that to happen again. It was wonderful to watch.

After the two teams exchanged handshakes, the OU women then gathered on the court in a circle, held hands and were led in prayer by an injured player. Yes, indeed their foundations were strong, and given added strength by their teammates.

I found the moment inspiring and also a reminder that these young women are being tested in athletic competition on a grand stage. This stage, however, is not as grand as the stage of life we have to perform on each and every day, and the thought that many of these young women haven’t really been tested spiritually yet, entered my mind. Most haven’t experienced the emotional highs and lows that life can present without warning. They don’t know so very much, but knowing they have a strong foundation I have faith that irrespective of what life has in store for them, they have an excellent chance of not only surviving, but thriving.

I read something a long time ago where the writer stated that “life is pain.” At the time I thought the writer was correct, but after gaining more life experience I’ve come to the conclusion that he/she was wrong. Life is filled with joy and pain, with both being equally important. The absence of one diminishes the effect of the other. What matters is the spiritual foundation the person was given.

Having said all this, I was reminded of a video I saw several days ago at I Am Second. I couldn’t find a method for downloading off of their site or I would have posted it earlier without a narrative. It is from author Anne Rice, and I found her story quite compelling, and indicative of the importance of a strong foundation.

I hope you find her witness as inspiring as I did.

8 Responses

  1. what a beautiful story of God’s unfailing love and His tenacity! perfect for this Holy Week. thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks Sister B.
    Glad you liked it.

  3. A little joke from my cajun relatives.

    “Anyone with ‘needs’ to be prayed over, come forward to the altar,” the Preacher says.
    Leroy gets in line, and when it’s his turn, the preacher asks: “Leroy, what do you want me to pray about for you?”
    Leroy replies: “Preacher, I need you to pray for help with my hearing.”

    The preacher puts one finger in Leroy’s ear, and he places the other hand on top of Leroy’s head and prays and prays and prays, he prays a blue streak for Leroy; the whole congregation joined in with enthusiasm.

    After a few minutes, the Preacher removes his hands, stands back and asks, “Leroy, how is your hearing now?”

    Leroy says, “I don’t know, Reverend, it ain’t ’til next Wednesday.”

  4. no2. Your broad span of insite inspires me. You’ve come a long way, grasshopper, from when we patrolled the streets of Angeles City, when we were young and dumb and full of you know what.

    • Those two years were a time of tremendous growth.
      We were young, but never dumb. Just inexperienced.

  5. Heh heh heh. I passed that on to SwampMan. His students have hearings pretty often.

Comments are closed.

Onlinemagazin • Der Komödiant

Der Komödiant versteht sich mich als ein-Mann-Onlinemagazin mit politischer und gesellschaftlicher Orientierung. Allerdings findet man hier auch Unterhaltung wie Filme, Spiele, Gaming u.v.m.

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

TIME NEVER DIES

Sercan Ondem

Father Says...

one dad's thoughts on life

Resultize

knowledge-sharing platform about career, self-development, productivity & learning for ambitious young people

TIME NEVER DIES

The Circle Is Not Round

WiseDrugged

Share Wisdom. Live Abundantly.

The Traditionalist

Revolt Against The Modern World

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

My life as Atu's Blog

a small thougt for a big planet of daydreamer

Taffy Toffy's Blog

太妃糖的博客

