Trickeration Winner 2010


Trickeration, a significant word in football lingo.

For some, it just isn’t pure football, for others, it is the essence of football. Fooling your opponent is a potent weapon, it gets in their heads, makes them cautious and paranoid, while raising the spirits of the team that pulled off the trick play.

Each football season there are numerous examples of trickeration, each instance providing much humor to those who see it, with the exception of the ones who got their “heads cut.”

Having reviewed numerous examples of trickeration for the 2010 season, I have decided it has come down to two, with one being the clear winner.

The first is from a middle school game in Corpus Christi, Texas. The QB complains that the officials didn’t mark the penalty correctly, that it should be five yards further up field. He has the center hand him the ball as he marches off the additional five yards and….

Very well played!
However, this was middle school where many of the kids are easily fooled, not being well versed in the rules.

Therefore, I believe the following example of trickeration to be the best of 2010. It is in the Texas 5A Div 1 state championship game and the team that gets its “head cut” is the #1 high school team in the nation and the defending state champion. An experienced and quality team that shouldn’t be fooled by any team, certainly not by an upstart program from Pearland, Tx., but…

…they were.

Pearland won the championship game by 4 points.

What about you?
Did you see any good trickeration this past season?

8 Responses

  1. well played, indeed. And in the championship game!

    I’ll try to find a vid on one that caught my eye a couple of years ago. Punt returner fools the cover team for a moment into thinking the play is dead. He stands there for a second and acts like he’s about to pitch the ball to the ref, then he takes off. Doesn’t score, but makes a real nice return.

    • As explosive as Trinity was, they couldn’t overcome the emotional swing or the points off of that play.
      That was a good weekend, five of the championship games were all televised live from Jerry’s Death Star, the others were live streamed on the innernut.

      Watching the Barrett-Jackson classic car auction on Speed. Been watching since Tuesday night. It’s more than a celebration of classic/custom cars and the craftsmanship involved in building/restoring them, it is also an excellent economic indicator. After the last two being down in attendance and soft money, this year’s attendance is up 30% from last year and the money is flowing…FLOWING…like I have never seen before.

      • I’m sensing an uptick — maybe pent-up demand, I dunno. Call me cautiously optimistic ( I bought Mrs. Nuke a new car last week).

  2. That brings me back to something I’ve been thinking about for a few weeks now, in anticipation of getting my quarterly bonus check. It was a very good quarter.

    I just came into a few extra thou, and I’ve been thinking about what to do with some of it. Part of me wants to blow it on a new motorcycle.

    Part of me wants to pay off some long term debt.

    And, the part of me that’s been on red-alert for the past 2 years wants me to lay in more mre’s, beans, bullets, and bandaids.

    Decisions, decisions.

    Red alert status is not quite accurate. It’s higher than yellow, but not full on red. Either way, it is exhausting to keep up. I need a break.

    • One of my clients, they sell high end items to resorts/estates/yachts such as flatware, silverware and Italian linens, mentioned to me last week that they had a strong 4th quarter. I’m thinking the mid-term election had something to do with, not only the actual election, but the anticipation of a big change, as well.

      One of my daughters traded her Lexus RX in for a new Mazda CX-9 and is thinking of building a new home.
      People are starting to spend again, I think, after sitting on their money for several years.

      I have no debt, am well armed with nearly every imaginable weapon, except I don’t have any auto’s or explosives, don’t need ammo, but there is one thing I would really like to invest in.
      Seeds.

      A new scooter would be nice, nuke. As long as you are gonna spend some saddle time. They don’t really hold their value well and they are one thing that can irritate a wifey, taking up space in the garage.
      I know you got that commie rifle, but do you have a carbine, pump shotgun and a good optic mounted long range rifle? They are must haves, as is a good man stopping .45ACP.

  3. The greatest trickeration of all time?
    Maybe this one, as it was in the national champeenship.

Comments are closed.

Onlinemagazin • Der Komödiant

Seien es aktuelle politische Entwicklungen, ein heikles gesellschaftliches Thema, oder aber lediglich ein paar Profi-Tipps zu irgendeinem Videospiel

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

TIME NEVER DIES

Sercan Ondem

Father Says...

one dad's thoughts on life

Resultize

knowledge-sharing platform about career, self-development, productivity & learning for ambitious young people

TIME NEVER DIES

The Circle Is Not Round

WiseDrugged

Share Wisdom. Live Abundantly.

The Traditionalist

Revolt Against The Modern World

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

My life as Atu's Blog

a small thougt for a big planet of daydreamer

Taffy Toffy's Blog

太妃糖的博客

