Your life doesn’t belong to you


“Do you really think God, you remember God, Right? Do you think God Made the highest life form on Earth, the Human Being, Just so he could destroy himself with sex, booze and drugs?”

John Carey has written a piece that touched me. It could have been my story.

In fact, it was my story.

Yesterday we asked the question, “where were you when you heard that Elvis had died?”

Today, I am asking, “Where were you when God got your attention?”

____

This is the World Famous Friday Open Thread.

WFFOT: or as Joe Biden would say, “Thank God it’s Thursday.”

 

 

.

10 Responses

  1. Any Sunday Mass at St. George’s Catholic Church in Fort Worth, Texas in the early 60s.

  2. The night I was born, I had turned over on my umbilical cord and gone into convulsions. My mother went to the base hospital and the Flight Surgeon on duty pronounced me dead. He was really just a resident so they called an Obstetrician from Penobscot, Maine to come and do a Cesarian Section and remove me. It was a rare operation at the time. It took over two hours to get him and his surgical team there and my Mother prepped. When he removed me, I was blue as cobalt. They hit me hard once and I sprang back to life. I was always aware of God and remember practically everything from the time I was a baby. When my family finally took me to church I was three. They said “This is God’s House.” I laughed and said “This isn’t God’s House! God is too big for this house!”

    But growing up in Texas in the sixties separated me from my acknowledgement of God. He woke me back up when I was 22 and in 2001 I died on an operating table and came back with a new attitude.

    God has been exceedingly merciful to me and is why my poetry is slanted the way it is.

    The Amaranth plant is an evergreen and things that never fade from life are called Amarantine.

    Amaranthine

    There is gate on the narrow way
    That few there be will find
    But peace and life Amaranthine
    Are waiting just behind

    Bread of life crumbs mark the path
    Sustain you, noble fledge
    Hear the Master call for you
    Walk the razors edge

    Burdened judgments lay ye down
    Your sorrow and your hate
    They will not pass the narrow way
    Nor fit Masters Gate

    So come along you gently now
    Thou wounded by the fall
    Accept the gift Amaranthine
    That’s waiting for us all

  3. If we live long enough, we have some amazing tales to tell.
    I nearly died at the age of four through no fault of my own, when I was struck in the head with a deactivated 76mm artillery round that my brother had thrown in the air on the opposite side of the huge pecan tree I was playing under. It struck me just above the brain stem in the occipital region. I survived with no ill effects(as far as I can tell). God was watching over me, but didn’t quite get my attention.
    I survived a neck injury in a high school football game. I can never forget the sensation of lying on the ground, paralyzed from the neck down and unable to breath. Suddenly, all feeling and body functions returned and I walked off the field. I was blessed, but being 16, I still didn’t comprehend God was watching over me.
    I survived many other life experiences, including commie bastids shooting at me with small arms, mortars and rockets on the tarmac of Tan Son Nhut air base, as well as various activities in my service as a Military Policeman.
    I partied hardy, drank much beer and Vodka and then climbed on my Honda 750. I finally got tired of the way I felt the day after drinking and just gave it up for that reason. I had an alcoholic grandfather that I learned from and never wanted to be the mess he was too often.
    It was after I had already stopped drinking that God finally got my attention.
    I was assigned to the USAF Academy and was involved in a custody suit for my two daughters with my ex-wife. They were in East Texas.
    Then early one morning I got a phone call from my brother, our father was given 6 months to live, cancer had him and it was out of control. He was in East Texas.
    I needed to be some where else, I was alone, I had no control and had never been faced with such emotional challenges. In despair I screamed out “My God…please HELP me!”
    To my amazement, he did.
    I felt a calmness surround me, I stopped crying and a gentle, yet unrelenting and loving force forced me to my knees. Even had I wanted to I could not have resisted, it was the power of God getting my attention and showing me what I needed. As I got to my knees I understood, he told me without words, that I needed to pray and pray I did.
    Did all of my problems go away? No, of course not, they still remained the same life burden, but I was transformed and I was able to deal with a clear mind and soul. I call that experience my God moment and I have never been the same.
    I’ve heard it said you don’t know your own soul until you are completely broken down. I believe that to be true based on my experiences.
    I have been and continue to be blessed by God’s love and mercy.

  4. Thank you gentlemen. I’ll give you my story as well. It will either be late tonight, or sometime over the weekend. I am too pooped at the present to give the topic the seriousness it deserves.

    Gnite all

  5. These Days

    One of these days the ground will drop out from beneath your feet
    One of these days your heart will stop and play its final beat
    One of these days the clocks will stop and time won’t mean a thing
    One of these days their bombs will drop and silence everything

    But it’s alright
    Yeah it’s alright
    I said it’s alright

    Easy for you to say
    Your heart has never been broken
    Your pride has never been stolen
    Not yet not yet

    One of these days
    I bet your heart’ll be broken
    I bet your pride’ll be stolen
    I bet I bet I bet I bet
    One of these days
    One of these days

    One of these days your eyes will close and pain will disappear
    One of these days you will forget to hope and learn to fear

    But it’s alright
    Yeah it’s alright
    I said it’s alright

    Easy for you to say
    Your heart has never been broken
    Your pride has never been stolen
    Not yet not yet

    One of these days

    I bet your heart’ll be broken
    I bet your pride’ll be stolen
    I bet I bet I bet I bet
    One of these days
    One of these days

    But it’s alright
    Yeah it’s alright
    I said it’s alright
    Yes it’s alright

    Don’t say it’s alright
    Don’t say it’s alright
    Don’t say it’s alright

    One of these days your heart will stop and play its final beat
    But it’s alright

    Easy for you to say
    Your heart has never been broken
    Your pride has never been stolen
    Not yet not yet

    One of these days
    I bet your heart will be broken
    I bet your pride will be stolen
    I bet I bet I bet I bet

    One of these days
    One of these days
    One of these days

  6. Where was I when God got my attention?

    I was facing a problem that was bigger than I knew how to solve. I had tried everything and was at the end of Keith. By that I mean that I had used up all my resources, and had no idea where to turn or who to turn to next.

    I had been attending AA meetings for a couple of years, and had reached a level of comfort that meant I no longer Jonesed for a drink. I prayed, so I thought, and had a arms-length relationship with God. I had been attending one of those new-style “praise” churches, and was also going to a Bible study on Friday nights that was pretty intense. That’s where I received the guidance and support that I needed.

    The problem involved custody of my son and daughter. Their mom and I had taken them without my permission, and had refused to let me even speak with them. All of this was in violation of our hard-fought agreement, and what made it all the more frustrating was that law enforcement told me there wasn’t anything they could do, other than hire a lawyer and sue her. There were other things going on here as well. Suffice to say, she had me over a barrel and knew it.

    This had happened on a Friday night, which was the night of the Bible study. I showed up in a daze, and explained what was going on, not knowing what kind of help they could provide. I thought, more than anything else, I needed to borrow enough money to sue her, because my financial resources had been burned through the first time around. I asked my friends what to do. Bob, the leader of the group asked, “have you prayed about it?” I said yes, but I really wasn’t sure of what to pray for. Pray for money to fight the battle, pray for the health and safety of the kids, or pray for a bus to run over the kid’s mom.

    Bob laughed at that last part, but then said, “Why don’t you just say, “Thank you Lord. I accept, and I’m ready to see whatever it is that you’re trying to show me.”

    That was it. That simple prayer allowed me to be in a position to see what God had for me, and man-o-man, it is so much better than I could have chosen for myself.

    I challenge any of you, if you have the guts, to ask God to show you. But, you better hold on tight. It’s one heckuva ride!

  7. Nuke: I love you man and all your readers. One day at a time. I am currently assisting a guy that missed getting his 10 year chip because the doctor was telling him he has cancer — and not the good kind (if there is a god kind!). So we stay sober when we stay together: cancer or no cancer, rain or shine, through thick and thin. If I had been this loyal to my first wife she might not have called the police and sent me to the Psych Ward!!

  8. 12 days to college football and #12 is Second.

Comments are closed.

Onlinemagazin • Der Komödiant

Seien es aktuelle politische Entwicklungen, ein heikles gesellschaftliches Thema, oder aber lediglich ein paar Profi-Tipps zu irgendeinem Videospiel

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

TIME NEVER DIES

Sercan Ondem

Father Says...

one dad's thoughts on life

Resultize

knowledge-sharing platform about career, self-development, productivity & learning for ambitious young people

TIME NEVER DIES

The Circle Is Not Round

WiseDrugged

Share Wisdom. Live Abundantly.

The Traditionalist

Revolt Against The Modern World

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

My life as Atu's Blog

a small thougt for a big planet of daydreamer

Taffy Toffy's Blog

太妃糖的博客

