Where were you when you got the news?


It was a few months before my seventh birthday. The whole family loaded up in the car and headed out for the Drive-In theater. We were well prepared:  tuna fish sandwiches, pimento cheese, and a pitcher full of sweet tea went a long way toward making sure that we wouldn’t have to spend a lot of money at the concession stand. We also packed a couple of empty Coke bottles for the back seat – just in case.

Follow that Dream was playing;  the latest Elvis movie, and although I’m sure we had done it before, this is my earliest memory of going to the movies with my family.

We went to more Elvis movies in the next few years, but, 1964 and the lads from Liverpool changed everything.  Suddenly, Elvis was old, and going nowhere. Plus, the idea of going to the picture show with the folks wasn’t near as cool any more.

Before we knew it, Elvis needed a “comeback tour” in order to gain attention. In 1968, we were gathered at Uncle Pal and Aunt Doris’ house when the show began. That meant we could watch “in color”. Those words, along with “air-conditioned” meant we would watch a memorable evening of entertainment in comfy surroundings. And, what a show it was.

Here is the intro from that show.

**

elvis-presley-deadRed Ridenour left the workshop of his Clarinda, Iowa home in a hurry. He had some important news to deliver.

“Nuke! … hey Nuke, come here”

Did you hear about your fellow Mississippian?”

“Who?” I asked.

“It’s about Elvis Presley.  He died today.”

“Whaaaa?” I sat down on the curb. I didn’t want to believe it.

**

He was only 42 years old.

Also:  Read n2l’s recollections of The King here

UPDATE: you gotta see this! Sweet Baby Girl Sings Her Heart Out to Elvis in the Car.

This little sweetheart LOVES to sing when she is riding around in the car! Listen to her sing along to Elvis… she is an adorable old soul. You might just like her version better. 😉

5 Responses

  1. Mmmmmm…blue shell crab…blargagarble.

  2. I remember where I was, I was 5 yrs old and in the living room of our apartment in Starkville. Mom came in with a really serious look on her face and told me she had some bad news, the way she was looking really freaked me out and scared me,then she told me Elvis had died. I remember asking “Who is Elvis”? I didn’t have a clue who she was talking about. I think she went on to tell me who he was but I manly remember being relieved that the “bad news” wasn’t really that bad. I’m pretty sure the only reason I remember that was because of how bad her look of distress freaked me out, but I remember it like it was yesterday.

    • I guess I’ll do another thread on ‘where were you when #8 died.” Bet you’ll remember that!

      Have a good weekend jseedubya.

  3. I left this link as an update to the post, and wanted to make sure you saw it. Awesome!!
    here is the LINK

Comments are closed.

Der Komoediant - literarisch, politisch, gesellschaftlich

Das etwas andere Magazin mit persönlichem Touch. Aus der Hauptstadt wird berichtet. Kein Auge bleibt trocken, kein Blatt vor dem Mund.

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

TIME NEVER DIES

Sercan Ondem

Father Says...

one dad's thoughts on life

Resultize

knowledge-sharing platform about career, self-development, productivity & learning for ambitious young people

TIME NEVER DIES

The Circle Is Not Round

WiseDrugged

Share Wisdom. Live Abundantly.

The Traditionalist

Revolt Against The Modern World

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

My life as Atu's Blog

a small thougt for a big planet of daydreamer

Taffy Toffy's Blog

太妃糖的博客

