Sugar Bowl And 2013-14 Sooners Reflections


It has been almost three days since OU defeated Bama in the 2014 BCS Sugar Bowl, 45-31.  I have read and listened to much both before and after the game, with numerous incongruous statements coming from the same alleged experts in both aspects.  The only honest alleged expert, the bald headed Bama homer Paul Finebaum, admitted the day after the game that he was an “idiot” for saying Bama would win.

Neither the Sooners, nor I, cared much for the prevailing mentality, that Bama would not only win, but that they could name the score.  When it comes to the experts, we just don’t care anymore what they have to say.  Like the song says:

I don’t care no more!

You listening? I don’t care no more!

Now for some personal admissions.  Since this past summer I have made numerous posts about the Sooners and their season.  I never made any predictions on game scores or the outcome of the season as a whole.  I did make some fairly accurate statements about the players, their abilities and potential.  I’m wise enough now not to invest too much into the games played by very young men and all the things that can happen during the season, such as injuries and discipline issues.  Those things were evident this year with two players removed from the team that were expected to make significant contributions, as well as too many season ending injuries to some of the biggest contributors to the team’s success.  Those occurrences are sadly part of the adversity a team has to contend with.

I admit I was wrong when I said in a recent post that this season was a disappointment because there would be no conference championship, no shot at the MNC in Pasadena or even a BCS bowl.  I was 50/50 in that statement.  I made that statement prior to OU defeating OSU and being selected for the Sugar Bow and well before their victory.  The disappointment I felt at that time was genuine, but not grounded in reality.

I must also admit that from the moment it was announced that OU and Bama would play in the Sugar Bowl, I truly believed that OU could/would win.  Sure I had my doubts, at times, but my gut feeling was that OU would win.  I told family and friends not to count the Sooners out of this game.  When (finally) it was time for the game and all the talking heads had made their predictions about how badly Bama would trounce OU, I felt very comfortable with the excitement, but not nervous or a feeling of dread.  In fact,  the only times I ever felt apprehensive or nervous before a game was before the two games OU lost this season.  A message from a higher power?  I don’t know, but it is a gut thing and I have learned to trust my gut feelings.

As for the game itself, (OU highlights are here) if the OU QB Trevor Knight had played that way all year, OU would be playing in the MNC Monday night. His performance can only be described as phenomenal.  Bama feared his running ability, but not his passing ability and rightly so, based on his performance through the regular season and Bama’s trouble with running QBs.  The running game for OU was stifled for most of the game, but was serviceable.

The OU defense, however, was sensational.  I am still a little puzzled as to why Bama didn’t run the ball as much as they did during the regular season, but by trying to throw the ball, they played into the strength of the OU defense, the pass rush.

Striker’s Hair Is On Fire

Striker had to take his helmet off after sacking the Bama QB, his hair was on fire.  In fact the entire OU defense had the same issue and for one simple reason, their DC Mike Stoops coaches with his hair on fire.  With seven QB sacks, four forced turnovers and McCarron running for his life and throwing passes away due to pressure, the OU defense stifled a talented Bama offense that was unaccustomed to being harassed in this fashion.

Bama racked up lots of yards, mostly on explosive plays and I wasn’t surprised by that outcome, nor do I think the Sooners were.  They knew they were facing a talented and experienced team that many thought would be playing for the MNC for the third year in a row.  The Sooners never fretted or sulked, they just fought and scrapped their way to victory, just as they had done all year.

Coach Bob Stoops said he loved his team in the trophy presentation and his comment was sincere.  I also believe this young OU team loves and believes in their coach.  With only 14 of the 56 Sooners that saw action in the Sugar Bowl being Seniors, the potential for this team next year is exciting.

One final note about winning and recruiting.  Late Saturday afternoon, at the U.S. Army All-American Bowl, the games MVP and nations #1 all-purpose running back,  Joe Mixon, announced he was committing to play for the Sooners.  In a tweet he stated that the OU Sugar Bowl victory “shut the deal” as to which school he would attend.

Winning, just like losing, is contagious.

Everything always looks better when you win.

10 Responses

  1. One other thing the alleged experts stated that I believe was false.

    When OU kicked off from their own ten yard line with only seconds left to play, the kicked ball bounced off of a Bama players and OU recovered. I don’t think that was an accident, I believe that was OU’s intention, as Coach Stoops and his special team’s coach Jay Boulware were confabbing before the kick and celebrated together afterwards.

    Coach Stoops has a “Popeye” snarl that he displays at times, like this one after taking the lead over OSU in the final seconds.

    He displayed that same snarl just before the ball was kicked. Now, I haven’t heard anything from anyone associated with OU that says it was or was not an accident, but looking at the Bama alignment and where the OU kicker kicked the ball, as well as the coaches, I think it was planned. A final soul crushing play signalling the end to a very good College football game.

    Also, my beloved Aunt who is a LSU fan, told me how tired she was seeing McCarron’s mom and girlfriend on tv. I agree and present to you the Sad Alabama Fans gallery.

  2. “Football, in its purest form, remains a physical fight. As in any fight, if you don’t want to fight, it’s impossible to win.”
    ~Bud Wilkinson

  3. It just occurred to me, OU beat both teams this year that played for the MNC in January 2013, with two different QBs.

Comments are closed.

Onlinemagazin • Der Komödiant

Seien es aktuelle politische Entwicklungen, ein heikles gesellschaftliches Thema, oder aber lediglich ein paar Profi-Tipps zu irgendeinem Videospiel

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

TIME NEVER DIES

Sercan Ondem

Father Says...

one dad's thoughts on life

Resultize

knowledge-sharing platform about career, self-development, productivity & learning for ambitious young people

TIME NEVER DIES

The Circle Is Not Round

WiseDrugged

Share Wisdom. Live Abundantly.

The Traditionalist

Revolt Against The Modern World

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

My life as Atu's Blog

a small thougt for a big planet of daydreamer

Taffy Toffy's Blog

太妃糖的博客

